

From left to right, front row:

Christopher Clement, Publications Director – Thiagan Pather, Vice President for Congress Affairs – Bernard Le Guen, Executive Officer – Renate Czarwinski, President – Roger Coates, Vice-President – Richard Toohey, Treasurer

From left to right, back row:

Eduardo Gallego – Richard Vetter – Anna Maria Bomben – Alfred Hefner – Sigurður Magnússon – Jong Kyung Kim

Dear colleagues,

The 64th Executive Council (EC) meeting of IRPA was held in Berlin from Thursday 29th November to Saturday 1st December, 2012. It was the first EC meeting with all new members elected in Glasgow. This meeting was an opportunity to take the official EC photograph for the next 4 years, which is posted on the IRPA website.

Dr. Preitsch, Deputy Director of GRS (Gesellschaft für Reaktorsicherheit), and host of the EC64th meeting in Berlin, welcomed the EC members and presented the activities of the GRS in Germany and abroad.

Designed to establish objectives for the IRPA work programme up to IRPA 14 in Cape Town in 2016, as well as discuss long-term objectives for the next 4 years before the next International Congress, a one-day seminar took place in Berlin, with a view to developing the following features: Vision for the IRPA EC; Future structures and strategies for the EC and IRPA Committees; Resources needed to support the strategies; and Next steps and process for implementing key decisions.

The President, Ms. Renate Czarwinski, and the EC members subsequently discussed various items. Jointly with HPS, we took the decision to organize a North American workshop on ethics in

the USA and to cooperate closely with ICRP on this subject, with Renate Czarwinski liaising with ICRP Chair Claire Cousins.

Chaired by our Vice-President Roger Coates, the new Sievert Awards Committee was established and each Associate Society will able to propose candidates for this prestigious award granted in 2016 in Cape Town.

The Executive Officer took into account all remarks submitted by the Associate Societies in Glasgow on the projected Guiding Principles for Establishing a Radiation Protection Culture and presented a new IRPA RP culture draft; each Associate Society will have an opportunity to discuss this draft until 15 March, 2013. The final document must be ready for the first IRPA Regional Congress in Rio de Janeiro.

The Executive Officer has updated the official IRPA leaflet for the next 4 years, which will be published shortly. For enhanced visibility, a pdf version will be at your disposal and posted on IRPA's website.

Jointly with the EC members, the Vice-President for Congress Affairs, Thiagan Pather reviewed the status, progress and organization of the 2016 IRPA International Congress in Cape Town, South Africa, which was followed by a presentation by Eduardo Gallego and Alfred Heffner on the development of IRPA's education database on the IRPA website.

An official agreement on enhanced cooperative work has been signed between the International Organisation for Medical Physics and IRPA, with Richard Vetter liaising on behalf of IRPA.

IRPA's EC decided to support the British SRP society for the development of the Guidance on Security of Sources.

In addition, the Guidance on Certification of Radiation Safety Specialists will be further developed: on this matter, Eduardo Gallego has been nominated to represent IRPA.

Implementation of new eye dose limit: the British SRP has agreed to jointly develop the terms of reference for guidance on this topic in conjunction with the Italian Associate Society. As such, the Vice-President, Roger Coates will be acting on behalf of IRPA and liaise with SRP.

Our publishing Director, Chris Clement, presented the latest development of our new website.

Sigurdur Magnusson promoted the IRPA EC decision to support the translation into English of Bo Lindell's 4 volumes on the history of radiation protection. Ana Maria Bomben introduced the Spanish translation of Bo Lindell's first volume which is now completed while three volumes have already been translated into German.

In total, 43 actions were decided and distributed among the 12 EC members and their completion will be reviewed at the next EC meeting in 2013.

Bernard le Guen IRPA Executive Officer 15 January 2013